“Three Dark Crowns” by Kendare Blake

23207027

Okay, so this one was interesting…

The premise of the book is that every generation, a queen gives birth to triplets. Once they turn 16, they try to kill one another in order to reign as the lone queen.

At first, I could barely take it, the story was moving too slow. You know when you keep checking how many pages until you’re finished? I must’ve checked like a hundred times!

The reason I saw it as moving slow was because Kendare Blake wrote all three sisters’ stories, trading off at the chapters. For the first half of the book, this had me annoyed, but then I began to understand why she wrote it that way. I honestly didn’t know what was going to happen at the end. No. Clue.

The book opened up with Katharine, the poisoner queen, so I figured she would’ve been the protagonist. And then I was like well, she’s the one who lives!

But, nope. Then we are introduced to Arsinoe, the naturalist queen. Color me confused, I was like WAIT, who’s the main character then???

After reading the third queen’s story, Mirabella, I was lost. I had no idea who to root for or who should be killed. And then I thought, maybe they’ll live in harmony?

And just so you know, the book ends and you still don’t know what’s in store for any of the sisters.

So, at first I wanted the book to just end, and now I WANT MORE! What happens???? I just want to know. 😦

I would recommend this book, it was a good read! Plus, I love that it’ll be a series. 🙂

sign

2 thoughts on ““Three Dark Crowns” by Kendare Blake

    1. Honestly, it was a bit slow. Like I said in the review, I kept checking to see if I would be done reading it quite periodically. But, it was like halfway through that things picked up and I was engaged. So now I’m excited for the next one 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

