“The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley” by Hannah Tinti

51ktrcpoi2l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Let’s start at the beginning. I read this book because a contact I have with Penguin Random House was giving out Advanced Reader Copies to a few select librarians. Although I am not a librarian, I work at a library so he wanted to give me “first crack at it.”

And honestly, I would do anything for that publishing company, that is where I would love to work! I was over the moon with excitement when he contacted me.

So, let me just say that this book would not have been something I would have normally picked up off the shelf. I’m more into YA fantasy and romance, and this book is an adult realistic fiction.

It centers around a man named, you guess it, Samuel Hawley (referred to as Hawley for the entirety of the book). Throughout his lifetime, he gets shot with bullets twelve times, so Hannah Tinti goes through and devotes a chapter to each of those instances…Well, one chapter has three bullets, but that’s the only one like that. However, the bullet chapters occur in his past, and in the present the story is about him and his teenage daughter Loo.

Hannah Tinti manages to beautifully intertwine the past with the present  in this book. Turning each page had me slipping further and further into the characters’ lives, and I loved every minute of it. Hawley and Loo’s father-daughter relationship was laid out in such a raw yet delicate manner, leaving me craving for more of their story.

So, this one doesn’t come out until the end of March, but keep it in mind and be on the lookout for it!

Aside from the actual story, I did struggle a bit with getting this done this week. I haven’t had much time to read aside from when I go to bed…and then the one day that I could read for hours and hours and hours…I decided to play The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker instead. Nevertheless, I got it done in time for my resolution! I am on track and plan to keep it that way.

On to the next one!

sign

Leave a Reply

