“A Court of Thorns and Roses” by Sarah J. Maas

77493_originalOoooooh this book was gooooood! 🙂 I quite enjoyed reading it, and at first I was a bit skeptical about liking it. I had tried to read “Throne of Glass” by Maas before, but many years ago, and I couldn’t get into it. I think I stopped after like ten pages…

And I have to admit that I wasn’t IMMEDIATELY captivated by the writing of this book in the beginning, but then I was swept away with the story-line. The book centers around a girl named Feyre (To which I learned later that it’s pronounced as “Fay-ruh,” but I just decided to say it as “Fair” because I associate “Fay-ruh” with the girl on Teen Mom who is ANNOYING.) who provides for her two sisters and father. They all live together in this hut of a home, and survive through Feyre’s hunting abilities. One day, Feyre is hunting and spots a gigantic wolf. She kills it and then goes back with the pelt to sell off for money. Turns out that it wasn’t just an ordinary wolf, it was a faerie. A beast comes to her home demanding to know who killed the wolf, to which Feyre confesses that she did so in order to protect her family. The beast takes her from her home to come and live in the fae world, Prythian.

From there, it basically turns into this “Beauty and the Beast”-esque story, where Feyre learns more about the beast (Whose name is Tamlin) and the world around her. Prythian is to be doomed by an evil force, so she has to stop it in order to save her newfound friends.

What I really liked about the book was that it didn’t necessarily end like I thought it was going to. So, those of you who remember how “Beauty and the Beast” ended, don’t be expecting it to be the same!

I can also tell you that I wasn’t really expecting this book to be as raunchy as it was; there are some really steamy scenes in this! *Takes out fan and waves it.

What else to sayyyyyyyyyyyyy:

I loved Tamlin, I just wanted to squish his handsome face, Lucien was amazing: I want to be his friend, and then Rhysand is just someone I want to be envoloped by.

Oh, Who’s Rhysand you ask? Well, I am very certain that he is going to play a major role in the sequel, “A Court of Mist and Fury,” which is the next book I will be reviewing.

Anyway, Rhysand is the tall, dark, and mysterious man who gets entangled in Feyre’s story. I don’t want to get too much into it as for the spoilers, but next up I will most likely be seeing the love triangle of Feyre, Tamlin, and Rhysand play out.

All in all, I loved this book. The world was magical and mysterious, and I loved delving into it. I am very excited to begin reading the next one. 🙂

sign

Leave a Reply

