“Faking Normal” by Courtney C. Stevens

15726915Book synopsis on goodreads:

Alexi Littrell hasn’t told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she hides in her closet and compulsively scratches the back of her neck, trying to make the outside hurt more than the inside does.

When Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend in “the Kool-Aid Kid,” who has secrets of his own. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally face the truth.

***

So, For this week, I wanted to pick out a quick read because the last few have been some thick ones. It took me a couple of days to get through this one, and I was pleased with the story. TBH, it wasn’t my first choice for the book of the week. I wanted to read some more fantasy, but I couldn’t get over ACOMAF by Sarah J. Maas…So, every fantasy novel I tried to read wasn’t what I wanted to read because it wasn’t Feyre’s story…

Anyway, back to this book. Five things I liked about it:

  1. I liked being inside the head of Alexi as she was a rape victim. I haven’t experienced anything like this, so it was interesting to see how that type of traumatic experience shapes someone’s life. I thought it seemed to be realistic (again, even though I don’t really know how someone would act in that situation.)
  2. I truly loved Bodee, he’s the kind of guy that you can’t help but smile at. He’s so sweet, and a kind soul for helping Alexi through her problems even when he was experiencing a traumatic experience himself. He’s just that kind of person, always helping. Plus, I think it’s awesome that he constantly colors his hair with Kool-Aid packets. 🙂
  3. I liked the surprise ending (And I mean I didn’t like it, just that I appreciated it as a reader.), because honestly I didn’t see it coming. I thought I knew who raped her, but man, it’s a true twist.
  4. I liked reading about high school again, I miss it! I feel so old now, I guess my ten year reunion should be coming up soon.
  5. I loved that Kayla, Alexi’s sister, was supportive of her in the end. I was really worried that she wouldn’t be because they have such a volatile relationship throughout the book.

What I didn’t like:

  1. Ahh, I didn’t like the writing style all that much. It was a bit juvenile, I guess I’ve just been reading more YA books that have more sophisticated writing styles.
  2. The ending just sort of came quickly. A quick wrap-up read like it just needed to get done in time, like the writer’s deadline was coming up.

It was an okay read, I enjoyed it but don’t think it’s a book that will stay in my heart for more than a day. Kind of easily forgettable. Well, all except for Bodee that is.

Don’t really have much to talk about for this one, just kind of meh~

sign

Leave a Reply

