“King’s Cage” by Victoria Aveyard

Yay! Another one finis30226723hed, and this time it’s Victoria Aveyard’s “King’s Cage,” the third book in the “Red Queen” series.

Okay, so my general thoughts of this series first. I really enjoy this series, the story is an interesting one. I honestly don’t know what the heck is going to happen on the romance side of things. Things will be going along all swimmingly and fine, and then the next it’s all doom and gloom. So, it definitely keeps me on my toes in that respect.

If you haven’t read this series yet, you should definitely do so. It’s the kind of story that will envelop you, making you hunger for answers in how everything is going to work out. Victoria Aveyard does a really good job with plot and character development, so much so that I get mad when I want things to go a certain way and they don’t because it’s not in the characters’ personalities to follow my own hopes. Le sigh. We are all at Aveyard’s mercy.

Now, here come the SPOILERS:

Five things I liked about this book:

  1. Honestly, and don’t kill me for this people, but I love Maven so much. I know he’s a horrid character who’s done awful things, but…I just have this feeling that he’s not what he seems. I pretty much think that he’s the big honcho of the Scarlet Guard and no one knows it. There was a reference in the book when Cal mentions that the perfect way to unit everyone is against a common enemy. Wellllllllll, I am a HUGE fan of the anime “Code Geass,” (Tis true, I have a tattoo to prove it.) and in the show there’s a character called Lelouch. He makes his enemies as well as his friends despise him so that they will come together in the end, rather than be a divided nation. SO, I may be completely and utterly wrong, but I have a feeling this is what it’ll be like for Maven…maybe? We’ll see next year!
  2. Mare and Cal’s relationship is so freaking cute up until the very end. WTF? I am angry with Cal for going along with wanting to be king, but then I’m not because he should be the king. It’s his birthright. And then I’m angry at Mare for not understanding this, but then I get where she’s coming from. Everyone wants their significant other to put them first. So, I’m upset and then I’m not at the both of them. So many conflicting emotions, GAH! Honestly, Mare should’ve just became the queen and kicked ass from there. BUT, since this is about what I liked about the book, I liked their relationship up to the end haha.
  3. I like how people die in these books, Aveyard is not afraid to unleash this writing tool from her arsenal…Which has me scared for the final book because that makes me think that it’s all up in the air for who survives and who does not.
  4. This book featured multiples POVs, which gave it an interesting perspective. I also liked that instead of going with the obvious other POV that would have been Cal’s, Aveyard went with Cameron’s POV to show us what was happening with the Scarlet Guard. And then near the end we also get to glimpse into the mind of Evangaline. So, three strong female POVs! Very interesting. Also, we learn that Evangaline can in fact be a softie…sometimes.
  5. I like how loyally Aveyard keeps to each character’s personality. Never straying from what they would do, so it’s a very realistic perception of human tendencies. This isn’t a fantasy land where everyone behaves the way we want them to.

Now for the things I didn’t like:

  1. There was a handful of grammatical errors…Like, at least five. I can understand one, but there was just too many in the book for my liking. Most of them appeared to be an extra word that, if deleted, would’ve been the only correction necessary to make the sentence proper. I don’t know, I’m really picky about editing errors. They take me out of the story and remind me that the book isn’t real, that it’s just some made up world. And especially with a book this popular, I would’ve thought editors would have combed over it very thoroughly. That appears not to be the case.

And honestly, the grammatical errors are the only things that come to mind that I didn’t like about the book. So, in that case, there was really nothing bad about it. I’m just a picky person.

Overall, I gave this one five stars on goodreads. 🙂 I can’t wait to see how the series all ends!

sign

Leave a Reply

