“Throne of Glass” by Sarah J. Maas

OOOOooooooootog-nyt-coverokayyy! So, I was so enraptured by Maas’s ACOTAR series that I decided to give “Throne of Glass” another try. Yes, another try. I had picked it up a few years ago and just couldn’t get into it. I stopped at like ten pages in, and now I know why!! Took a few years there, but I understand. Maas originally had posted her story on fictionpress, which is the sister site for fanfiction, WHICH I LOVE! But, if you read fanfiction, you should know what I’m talking about when I say that they are all written in a very similar style to one another. There’s a certain way of writing fanfiction, I know because I also write fanfiction. This is the same exact reason why I couldn’t get into “Fifty Shades of Grey” as it was first a “Twilight” fic, but then later made into the book it is today. Saaaaaammmmmeeeee feel for when the story begins, kind of like…I don’t know…the writer is trying too hard? Anyway, I felt the same with “Throne of Glass” all those years ago, and now I understand why: Because it was on fictionpress.

Don’t get me wrong, I think fictionpress and fanfiction are AMAZING! I just feel weird when I read them as a book…I don’t know, it’s just how I am.

BUT!

I trudged through the first couple of chapters for “Throne of Glass,” and I absolutely LOVED IT! Two thumbs way the eff up! 🙂

line

Goodreads description:

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

line

Here’s my faaaaavvv five things about it:

1. Celaena is one badass character, my god! She’s snarky, kicks butt, loveable, and is just an all around great character.

2. Let’s talk about Chaol: My love for him is like this warmth inside of me whenever I read his parts in the book. It’s so obvious how he cares for Celaena. But, if I’m being honest, sometimes it feels like a brother-sister relationship, and then others it feels like a romantic one. So, I’m really interested to see how that relationship plays out.

3. I liked the different POV in the story, it really showed the versatility that Maas has in creating characters. Everyone is so completely different, I wish I could make characters as if they were real. Everyone has their quirks and habits, it’s fascinating to read through.

4. SPOILER ALEEERRRRTTTTT: I liked how Celaena broke up with Dorian. He just kind of felt meh to me, and I had the feeling throughout the book that he was the one behind all the attacks. But, I was wrong… 😦 Anyway, I liked that Celaena didn’t need him to be happy, a lot of female characters have that sort of portrayal. Maas does a good job of empowering her female characters, showing that they have a mind of their own.

5. I liked how short it was! Ahahaha I know that sounds weird, but the last book I read of hers was so long, and I was running short on my deadline. So, I was able to pull this one out in the end, PHEW! But, I know they get more hefty further down the road, I will enjoy every page of them! Maas just has this way of pulling you into the world and making you want to live there forever. ❤

line

Nooooww for what I didn’t like:

1. The first couple of chapters felt a bit forced to me, but it quickly became so much better.

2. I hated Kaltain. YUCK! And about halfway through the book, I realized I’d been pronouncing her name like “Kate-lynn.” Haha, I was just reading over her name so fast, I didn’t realize it, and then it threw me off for the whole story afterwards.

line

Quotey goodness time:

Still, the image haunted his dreams throughout the night: a lovely girl gazing at the stars, and the stars who gazed back.

 

There was good in people-deep down, there was always a shred of good. There had to be.

 

“If you’d like to unwrap me,” he said, lifting the large wicker basket onto the table, “we still have an hour until the temple service.”

 

“We all bear scars, Dorian. Mind just happen to be more visible than most.”

 

Then, after a moment, his arms wrapped around her, keeping her close to him, so close that as she shut her eyes and breathed him in, she couldn’t tell where he ended and she began.

 

Her heart beat so quickly, and yet she felt utterly calm-as if she could have stayed there forever and not minded, stayed there forever and let the world fall apart around them.

 

“You could rattle the stars,” she whispered. “you could do anything, if you only dared.”

line

All in all, I really loved this book! So much goodness, and I can’t wait to see what happens next. 🙂

sign

Leave a Reply

