“Ocarina of Time” by Akira Himekawa

29934239Let me start out by saying that “Ocarina of Time” is my absolute favorite video game. I’ve played it a kajilion times, I can even play it in my sleep. I know every inch of that game, so I was excited to read this manga version of it!

I had gotten this book at Christmas and it took me until now to read it! Bad Roslyn!!

And, I have to admit that I only read this book now because I was falling behind in reading a book a week this week. Now, this is a hefty manga, like 300 something pages, but I knew I could finish it in a few hours. So, I selfishly picked it so that I could keep on track with reading a book a week.

Ahhhh, hopefully I will be able to keep up with my goal! Lately, my mind’s been wandering to my own story that I’m crafting together. But, that’s another blogging experience completely…

line

Goodreads summary:

A young boy named Link must defeat evil at every turn on his long, perilous quest to find the Triforce and deliver it to Princess Zelda!

The Legend of Zelda: Legendary Edition contains two volumes of the beloved The Legend of Zelda manga series, presented in a deluxe format featuring new covers and color art pieces by Akira Himekawa. The battle for Hyrule and the Sacred Realm has begun! A young boy named Link must defeat evil on his long, perilous quest to find the spiritual stones that hold the key to the Triforce, and deliver them to Zelda, princess of the land of Hyrule.

Young Link embarks on a perilous quest to find three spiritual stones that hold the key to the Triforce, the wielder of which will rule the world! Link’s plan is to deliver the stones to the Princess of the mystical land of Hyrule, Zelda. But obstacles abound and his long journey has only just begun!

lineOn to the five things I liked about the book:

1. I loved that Link could talk. Haha, for those of you who play the games, you know link doesn’t have a voice of his own. So this story was quite refreshing that he was able to speak his own mind. And, I was kind of taken aback with how realistic I felt it was. His voice really did seem like the one he’d have if he could talk.

2. I liked that there were bonus stories within the book that had nothing to do with the game. It was like getting to see more of the world that I’ve been used to for years. I loved it!

3. I liked the drawings, I think that the depictions were great. I’m really picky when it comes to artwork, so I’m happy that I was able to enjoy it!

4. I was happy that the whole story was able to fit into this one book. I would have been so upset if it was in two books, because then I would have had to go out and bought the next one.

5. Spoiler time. I found it interesting that Vulvagia had an extra story about it. It made me really sad when Link killed it after we learned they used to be friends.

line

What I didn’t like:

1. Okay, so apart from the Vulvagia part, I didn’t like how the storyline changed at parts. I understand that it had to in order to keep the story as short as it was, but it just didn’t sit right with me.

2. I didn’t like that Impa was never shown to become the spirit sage. The writing just bypassed that completely, and in the end she just appeared as the sage. What the heck was up with that?

line

Okay, super short this time, but I still gave this one 4 stars. 🙂

sign

Leave a Reply

